MPs to Watch

CaSE has developed a list of those MPs with an interest or background in science, technology, engineering or maths (STEM) who have been re-elected or newly elected to Parliament. We have now written to these MPs, inviting them to engage with science and engineering issues.  If you wish to give us any feedback on the list please get in touch.

(Note HE=Higher Education qualification)

MPs Re-Elected to Parliament New MPs
Adam Afriyie (Former Shadow Science Minister) Alec Shelbrooke (Mechnical Engineer)
Andrew Murrison (Doctor) Andrew Bingham (Engineering industry)
Ben Wallace (Former Director of QinetiQ) Andrew Bridgen (Genetics HE)
Brooks Newmark (Former member of S&T Committee) Andrew Griffiths (Family engineering business)
Crispin Blunt (Technology HE) Anne Milton (Qualified Nurse)
David Davis (Molecular/Computer Science HE) Benedict Gummer (Ran an engineering firm after university)
Davis Amess (Technology HE) Charlie Elphicke (Career in pharmaceutical research)
Julian Brazier (Maths HE) Daniel Poulter (Doctor)
Liam Fox (Doctor) David Mowat (Engineering background)
Nadine Dorries (Member of S&T Committee) Gavin Barwell (Physics HE)
Peter Lilley (Natural Sciences HE) George Freeman (Set up own biomedical company)
Tobias Ellwood (Technology HE) Graham Evans (Worked for STEM companies)
Mark Lancaster (Adviser to RSC) Karen Bradley MP (Maths HE)
Sir Alan Haselhurst MP (Head of Pharmacy Firm) Nadim Zahawi (Chemical Engineering HE)
  Philip Lee (Doctor)
  Sarah Wollaston (Medical doctor)
  Steve Baker (Computer Science HE & Engineering background)
  Therese Coffey (Chemistry HE)
  Zac Goldsmith (Editor of the Ecologist)
Andrew Gwynne (Technology HE) Bill Esterton (Maths and Philosophy HE)
Andrew Miller (Interest in science & technology) Chi Onwurah (Engineering HE)
Anne Begg MP ( Interest in genetics) Jenny Chapman (Former trainee prison psychologist)
Brian Donohoe (Engineering HE) Julie Hilling (Chemistry HE)
David Milliband (Technology HE)  
George Howarth (Trained as an engineer) Rachel Reeves (Involved with NESTA)
George Mudie (Former engineer) Stella Creasy (Psychology HE)
Graham Stringer (Chemistry HE) Tristram Hunt (Involved with SMC)
Hilary Benn (Head of Policy ASTMS and Secretary of State DEFRA)  
Jim Dobbin (Microbiologist)  
Jim Dowd (Former engineer)  
Jim Hood (Mechanical Engineering background)  
Joan Ruddock (Chemistry HE)  
John Denham (Chemistry HE)  
John Robertson (Former BT Engineer)  
Kelvin Hopkins (Maths HE)  
Margaret Beckett (Technology HE)  
Mark Hendrick (Computer Science HE)  
Martin Caton (Biology HE)  
Paul Flynn (Chemist)  
Robert Flello (Chemistry HE)  
Roberta Blackman-Woods (S&T Committee)  
Stephen Timms (Maths HE)  
Tom Harris (Sci interest)  
Tony Lloyd (Maths HE)  
Gordon Marsden (Member of S&T Committee)  
Khalid Mahmood (Engineer)  
Liberal Democrats  
Alan Reid (Maths HE) Julian Huppert (Science HE)
Don Foster (Physics HE) Simon Wright (former maths teacher)
John Hemming (Physics HE) Gordon Birtwistle (Owns engineering business)
Roger Williams (Biology HE) Ian Swales (Chemical Engineer)
Sarah Teather (Natural Sciences)  
Tom Brake (Physics HE)  
Vince Cable (Natural Sciences HE)  
Mike Hancock (Former Engineer)  
Other Parties  
Alasdair McDonnell (Qualified GP) – SDLP Naomi Long (Civil Engineering HE) – Alliance Party of Northern Ireland
Angus MacNeil (Engineering HE) – SNP  
This entry was posted in Blog, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

4 Trackbacks

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

  • Read our blog Read our blog    Read our blog

  • RSS Latest CaSE Tweets